H.E. Dr. Mohammad Abdulkarim Al-Issa


Secretary General, The Muslim World League

Chairman, Centre for Responsible Leadership

HE Dr. Mohammad bin Abdulkarim Al-Issa received his higher education from the University of Imam Muhammad bin Saud Islamic University in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, where he earned a master’s degree and a PhD in Comparative Judicial Studies (Constitutional Law).

Dr. Al-Issa has held many prestigious public offices. He worked as a judge in the Ministry of Justice until he reached the highest rank of Chief Appellate Judge. He was then appointed Vice-President of the Court of Grievances, during which time he also worked as an acting Advisor at the Royal Court.

His Excellency was appointed Minister of Justice in 2009 and a royal decree was issued, appointing him to serve as an Advisor at the Royal Court.

Dr. Al-Issa has since travelled extensively throughout the United States and Europe, meeting with dignitaries and parliamentarians from the fields of justice, law and human rights.   

He currently supervises the Intellectual Warfare Center, an international center affiliated with the Ministry of Defense in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, dedicated to combatting extremist and terrorist ideology.  

Dr. Al-Issa assumed his role as Secretary-General of the Muslim World League in August 2016 and has been actively engaged in presenting the true image of Islam, its tolerant principles, around the world. He is committed to promoting religious and intellectual awareness among Muslim minorities and works tirelessly to disseminate the values of justice, tolerance and peace.

As a proponent of constructive dialogue with followers of different faiths, civilizations and cultures, Dr. Al-Issa visited the Vatican in September 2017 to meet Pope Francis and the late Cardinal Jean-Louis Tauran, Chairman of the Pontifical Council for Interreligious Dialogue. In April 2018, Cardinal Tauran, in turn, visited the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and signed an historic cooperation agreement which included joint programs to enhance communication and bridge gaps.

Dr. Al-Issa continues to meet with senior leaders of politics, religion, science, thought and culture, discussing ways of constructive cooperation in combating extremism and immunizing communities of different religions and cultures against the dangers of extremism. 

He frequently lectures at international events and delivered a keynote speech on behalf of Muslims at the International Summit on Religion in Kyoto, Japan, presided over by the chief priest of the Tendai Buddhist sect in August 2017. He also spoke on behalf of Muslims at the 39th Meeting for Friendship Among People in the Italian city of Rimini in August 2018. 

Dr. Al-Issa is the recipient of numerous domestic and international awards, including:

A. The Galileo International Award of 2018, awarded by the Galileo Foundation in Florence, Italy for his international achievements and pioneering leadership in promoting religious and cultural peace and harmony

B. The Moderation Prize of 2018, awarded by HRH Prince Khalid Al Faisal bin Abdul Aziz Al Saud, Governor of Makkah Region and Advisor to the Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques King Salman bin Abdul Aziz Al Saud, for his distinguished and outstanding efforts in promoting moderation 

Bawa Jain


Secretary General, The World Council of Religious Leaders

Founder and President, The Centre for Responsible Leadership

Inspired by and dedicated to my Guru - Spiritual Father H.H. Acharya Sushil Kumarr ji Maharaj.

Bawa Jain is a visionary leader in the interfaith movement and a pioneer of religious diplomacy. After working closely on the Millennium World Peace Summit with the office of the United Nations Secretary-General, Mr. Jain committed his life to finding ways that the worldwide religious and spiritual communities can work together as interfaith allies with the United Nations on specific peace, poverty and environmental initiatives.

Mr. Jain traveled extensively for two years on behalf of the creation of The World Council of Religious Leaders, a direct outcome of the Millennium World Peace Summit. The World Council was successfully launched at the United Nations in Bangkok on June 12, 2002 and, at the request of the preeminent world spiritual leaders who were present, Mr. Jain continues to serve as the Secretary-General of The World Council. The Council is charged with being a strong resource for and a collaborator with the United Nations and other international and national organizations whose purposes include promoting peace, harmony, tolerance, and mutual respect among human beings and the evolution of world, social and economic justice.

In 2001, Bawa Jain was asked by The World Economic Forum to help integrate a religious dimension into the Forum’s activities by bringing a delegation of religious leaders to their meeting in Davos, Switzerland. The strategic partnership that was formed between The World Economic Forum and The Millennium World Peace Summit resulted in the launching of the Forum’s Religious Initiative. Mr. Jain, who assisted the religious leaders’ participation in the Forum’s 2002 meeting, continues to develop an integrated framework for world religions, business, and government communities to address world problems collectively.

​In addition to these activities, Bawa Jain’s contribution to the betterment of humanity is found in three on-going programs that he inaugurated. As founder of The World Movement for Nonviolence, he conceived of The Gandhi-King Award, which fosters the practices and principles of non-violence in daily life. Past recipients include UN General Secretary Kofi-Annan, Nelson Mandela, and Dr. Jane Goodall. As Co-Director of the Season for Nonviolence from 1998-2000, Mr. Jain helped create the second on-going activity—nonviolence youth programs. These programs are now operating in 115 cities in the United States and 15 countries. Finally, as Vice President of the Interfaith Center of New York from 1997 to 2000, Mr. Jain organized an annual Interfaith Service that continues to mark the opening of the United Nations General Assembly.

Committed to the global interfaith movement, Mr. Jain services as a Trustee of the Council for the Parliament of the World’s Religions. He is active in the United Religions Initiative, where he convened an Indo-Pakistani Dialogue Forum in 1998. 

​Mr. Jain continues to counsel governmental, business and religious organizations on deeper involvement in interfaith activities and global initiatives. He also serves on the Earth Charter Initiative International Resource Team, the Advisory Board of the Center for Religion and Diplomacy, and the Advisory Board of the Earth Council’s Collaborative on National Councils of Sustainable Development. Mr. Jain co-founded the Global Commission for the Preservation of Sacred Sites.

​In response to the requests of UN Agencies and governments, Bawa Jain travels around the world to speak on religious diplomacy, spirituality, religion, and peace.